Interview With T-Shirt Artist JadenKale!

We haven’t done an interview in a while so I went on a search for an artist willing to do one.  JadenKale was eager to help me out! =)  She was also one of our first Artists of the Week a while back.  Now, on with the interview!

It’s been a long while since Angry Spade featured you as our first Artist of the Week.  How have things been going since then?
Things have been moving along quickly. I’m working on some major events, including moving out of the Midwest in the next few months. As for designing, it’s been put on a bit of a hiatus, but that doesn’t mean it’s stopped me from coming up with great ideas that I wish to pursue as soon as I’m into my temporary digs.

I saw that your design, “He Wanted To Fly So Badly” was printed over at Goodjoe!  Congrats!  How does it feel?  Is this your first print?
Thank you for the support on the tee! It always feels great to see something you’ve created grace the front page of a tee site and an even better feeling when you see it out in public! This is not my first print. It’s actually my 6th print at Goodjoe specifically, and my 12th overall. Regardless if it’s the first or the 12th, I still get this warm feeling in my chest as I see people respond to my printed work. It’s thoroughly gratifying.

How are things at Tilteed?  Are you still a curator there?  What is your favorite part of the job?  That always seemed like such a cool job to me.
Things are going great at Tilteed! I am still a curator and things are steadily moving forward for the site. We just recently announced that there are at least three boutiques outside the US (in Seoul, Prague, and Australia) that now carry our tees and our summer months were some of the busiest since the three curators started at Tilteed in January. I think my favorite part of the job continues to be art that I love and have been bummed to see passed up by other big sites, finally finding a home between our catalog and limited lines.

Do you have a favorite t-shirt artist?  If so, who?  Care to tell which design of theirs is your favorite?
To say one would hardly explain my 400+ tees. I think, to be fair, I’ll name my top 20, in no particular order. That’s only a 1/5 the tees I own Winking smile emoticon However, some names will be repeated, despite the site listed.

1. Cthulhu – Jeremy Hanlin – Enclothe.com
2. Hot Pepper – bsweber – Tilteed.com (Limited line)
3. Mouthface – Hands on Fire – Tilteed.com (Limited line)
4. My Imoto – The_JCW – Tilteed.com (catalog line)
5. You Just Can’t Kill The Beast – Jublin – DesignByHumans
6. Ship to Shore – ValorandVellum – DesignByHumans
7. Two Trees – Edgar R McHerly – DesignByHumans
8. Avocado Man – Jason Cirillo – shirt.woot
9. Thing That Scoots – Monsieur Pimpant – shirt.woot
10. Kitty Gratis – Gimetzco! – shirt.woot
11. The Northern Black-capped Gumchewer – Laser Bread – Threadless.com
12. Seven Swans – ValorandVellum – Threadless.com
13. Attack of Literacy! – polynothing – Threadless.com
14. Uh Oh Spaghetti-o’s (Still Life With Woodpecker) – Enin – RIPTapparel.com
15. I Dig Life – Edgar R McHerly – RIPTapparel.com
16. Pets Are Us – Gumbolimbo – RIPTapparel.com
17. Jellybot -The_JCW – Teefury.com
18. Thor is my CoPilot – MJ (@Vonplatypus) – Teefury.com
19. Scifiction – Tolagunestro – Teefury.com
20. Taco Dinosaur! (I have the original red, and I’ll be getting the new green) – David Seibei – Seibei.com

*looks back at the list* yeah, that’s a pretty good sampling of what I regularly wear.

How would you suggest new designers should go about getting the word out on their work?  I see so many new artists with awesome work that is going unnoticed because they aren’t well known.
I really would suggest a simple blogger page. Even with flickr pages, it’s hard to get word hits for designs and I personally find it hard to find what I’m searching for, even when I know the artist. So I totally suggest a blog page to set up as your makeshift virtual portfolio. You can easily tag each entry, write blurbs if you choose, and it’s easily searchable on google or bing. Once you get established, you The other thing I suggest is get into social media. In the last year, I’ve been really active and it has served me well. I’m creeping ever closer to 500 followers on twitter alone. And I follow or am friends with approximately 200+ people on Facebook, most of which are artists. Most small tee sites don’t even get that many followers in their 1-2 year volatile lifetime.

I think that’s about all I have for you Jaden.  But before we go, do you have any prints, designs up for voting or anything else cool and awesome to show everyone?
Well, not only do I have my tee available at Goodjoe this week and my original design, Unlikely Friends, up for voting, but I also have a tee available now at Stupidhurts.us : http://stupidhurts.us/item/87 . Peyote Bird was printed early this year, by a site that didn’t do a quality job, so I decided to see if Stupidhurts would take on the challenge. They succeeded. It looks great on the AA Galaxy organic tee and it sets off the white nicely.

Other than that, keep your eyes peeled for some awesome tees at Tilteed during the fall and winter! 😀 We’ve got some big names coming up, starting September 2nd. Thanks again for a repeat interview!

Thanks for doing an interview with us Jaden!  You are always welcome back in the future! =)

It’s been a long while since Angry Spade featured you as our first Artist of the Week.  How have things been going since then?
Things have been moving along quickly. I’m working on some major events, including moving out of the Midwest in the next few months. As for designing, it’s been put on a bit of a hiatus, but that doesn’t mean it’s stopped me from coming up with great ideas that I wish to pursue as soon as I’m into my temporary digs.

I saw that your design, “He Wanted To Fly So Badly” was printed over at Goodjoe!  Congrats!  How does it feel?  Is this your first print?
Thank you for the support on the tee! It always feels great to see something you’ve created grace the front page of a tee site and an even better feeling when you see it out in public! This is not my first print. It’s actually my 6th print at Goodjoe specifically, and my 12th overall. Regardless if it’s the first or the 12th, I still get this warm feeling in my chest as I see people respond to my printed work. It’s thoroughly gratifying.

How are things at Tilteed?  Are you still a curator there?  What is your favorite part of the job?  That always seemed like such a cool job to me.
Things are going great at Tilteed! I am still a curator and things are steadily moving forward for the site. We just recently announced that there are at least three boutiques outside the US (in Seoul, Prague, and Australia) that now carry our tees and our summer months were some of the busiest since the three curators started at Tilteed in January. I think my favorite part of the job continues to be art that I love and have been bummed to see passed up by other big sites, finally finding a home between our catalog and limited lines.

Do you have a favorite t-shirt artist?  If so, who?  Care to tell which design of theirs is your favorite?
To say one would hardly explain my 400+ tees. I think, to be fair, I’ll name my top 20, in no particular order. That’s only a 1/5 the tees I own Winking smile emoticon However, some names will be repeated, despite the site listed.

1. Cthulhu – Jeremy Hanlin – Enclothe.com
2. Hot Pepper – bsweber – Tilteed.com (Limited line)
3. Mouthface – Hands on Fire – Tilteed.com (Limited line)
4. My Imoto – The_JCW – Tilteed.com (catalog line)
5. You Just Can’t Kill The Beast – Jublin – DesignByHumans
6. Ship to Shore – ValorandVellum – DesignByHumans
7. Two Trees – Edgar R McHerly – DesignByHumans
8. Avocado Man – Jason Cirillo – shirt.woot
9. Thing That Scoots – Monsieur Pimpant – shirt.woot
10. Kitty Gratis – Gimetzco! – shirt.woot
11. The Northern Black-capped Gumchewer – Laser Bread – Threadless.com
12. Seven Swans – ValorandVellum – Threadless.com
13. Attack of Literacy! – polynothing – Threadless.com
14. Uh Oh Spaghetti-o’s (Still Life With Woodpecker) – Enin – RIPTapparel.com
15. I Dig Life – Edgar R McHerly – RIPTapparel.com
16. Pets Are Us – Gumbolimbo – RIPTapparel.com
17. Jellybot -The_JCW – Teefury.com
18. Thor is my CoPilot – MJ (@Vonplatypus) – Teefury.com
19. Scifiction – Tolagunestro – Teefury.com
20. Taco Dinosaur! (I have the original red, and I’ll be getting the new green) – David Seibei – Seibei.com

*looks back at the list* yeah, that’s a pretty good sampling of what I regularly wear.

5-  How would you suggest new designers should go about getting the word out on their work?  I see so many new artists with awesome work that is going unnoticed because they aren’t well known.
I really would suggest a simple blogger page. Even with flickr pages, it’s hard to get word hits for designs and I personally find it hard to find what I’m searching for, even when I know the artist. So I totally suggest a blog page to set up as your makeshift virtual portfolio. You can easily tag each entry, write blurbs if you choose, and it’s easily searchable on google or bing. Once you get established, you The other thing I suggest is get into social media. In the last year, I’ve been really active and it has served me well. I’m creeping ever closer to 500 followers on twitter alone. And I follow or am friends with approximately 200+ people on Facebook, most of which are artists. Most small tee sites don’t even get that many followers in their 1-2 year volatile lifetime.

I think that’s about all I have for you Jaden.  But before we go, do you have any prints, designs up for voting or anything else cool and awesome to show everyone? Well, not only do I have my tee available at Goodjoe this week and my original design, Unlikely Friends, up for voting, but I also have a tee available now at Stupidhurts.us : http://stupidhurts.us/item/87 . Peyote Bird was printed early this year, by a site that didn’t do a quality job, so I decided to see if Stupidhurts would take on the challenge. They succeeded. It looks great on the AA Galaxy organic tee and it sets off the white nicely.

Other than that, keep your eyes peeled for some awesome tees at Tilteed during the fall and winter! 😀 We’ve got some big names coming up, starting September 2nd. Thanks again for a repeat interview!

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Comment!

